Great Finds

Vintage is so Cool

Real Simple Magazine / June 2011

Do you any of you remember going to the public pool to cool off for the summer? I do. Mom and I would make a day of it, always finishing with the much deserved treat of ice cream before heading home. Ahhh, the good old days when I didn’t mind being seen in public in a bathing suit. Just remember that black is slimming! Anyway, the local pool would provide us with these wire baskets to hold our belongings while we frolicked in the “cement pond.” Each basket had a number on it which then had a matching safety pin attached to a little metal tag with the same number. You were then to pin this to your towel or swimsuit. At the end of the day you turned in your tag to get back your basket. What a concept, huh? Does this sound familiar or am I dating myself??? Haven’t been to a public pool in a very long while; and since I think they have outlawed whaling, I doubt I will be heading to one anytime soon to see if this system is still in use today.

So….getting back to the purpose of this post. While browsing through the latest issue of Real Simple magazine, I came across these awesome galvanized wire gym baskets. Available online at dundeegeneralstore.com, these vintage reproductions [6 ” x 8.5 ” x 12.5 “] would make for a great look when organizing open shelving in your kitchen, laundry room or perhaps a stylish closet. Really they would look great in any any room. I would so love to get my hands on some of these. However due to their recent debut in the magazine, they are already sold out! Don’t despair though. Visit their sight and ask them to send you an email notifying you when they get more of these baskets in stock. Put a little vintage into your decor. Woo Hoo!

2 thoughts on “Vintage is so Cool

  1. So, I know I’m just a LITTLE older than you, but I do not remember the wire baskets and metal tags at the pool where I grew up. We had lockers in the bathrooms. But, I guess the difference could be that it was a Country Club and not a public pool. My actual belief is that maybe, just maybe, you are lying to me about your age and really you ARE older than me and have just outed yourself with this blog. 🙂

    Like

    1. Well excuse me Miss Country Club! I suppose my early youth wasn’t as “rich” as yours then b/c I didn’t belong to a country club until I was in high school. Boo-Hoo 😦
      Pssst….You’re still older than me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

