Crafts

From A to Z

So who doesn’t love the look of metal letters?  You see them everywhere, and I couldn’t help but covet these beauties. Problem is, they are so expensive!  These lovelies are $98 each from Anthropologie.  Sorry, but I just don’t see being able to afford that price….EVER!  So, enter Pinterest and all the tutorials on how to paint paper letters, from your local craft store, to look like metal.  You can create a knock-off look for about $12 and as long as you don’t look too close, who is going to know?

I have had four block paper letters that spell out NEST, for a couple years now, and have been wanting to do something with them. Well, I finally got off my duff and did just that….something. I used five different paint colors, a foam brush to base coat each letter, and then started adding different shades of gray in a circular pattern.  It was really an experiment since  I had never attempted this before.  I wish I could tell you each step of the process, but aside from base coating them in the Gunmetal Gray, it was a process of trial and error. I will tell you that the very last thing I did, that I think made them look the most like metal, was to apply Metallic Silver Sterling, using a paper towel, in a circular motion.  I didn’t use a lot of paint, it was somewhat like dry brushing, but the paper towel didn’t leave any brush strokes.  Here are the before and after pictures.

I think they came out pretty good. The last step really helped with enhancing the highs and lows of the “metal” look. Do I think anyone will mistake them for those expensive upscale store bought letters….No.  Well, maybe.  Geez, I don’t know and does it really matter?  It was a fun project, and painting is really relaxing.  Being creative sets my mind free!

Leave a Reply

