Our House

Poolside

I know it’s February, and for most people the thought of dining outside during that month means using a thermos to drink their dinner.  However, if you lived in the Southwest, you would be enjoying temperatures in the mid 70’s.  That is unseasonably warm for here, as our highs are mostly in the 60’s this time of year. Well, for the first time since we moved into the new house, a little over a year ago, I actually took advantage of the gorgeous weather and the oasis feeling of our backyard. My husband arrived home yesterday to find me curled up in one of the large cushy patio chairs with a margarita in one hand and a Nicholas Sparks novel in the other. I had the speakers softly piping out some easy listening music, and I was thoroughly enjoying myself. Even the dog was lounging on one of the chairs passing the time with me.  It was a total moment.

Anyway, since dinner was next on the agenda, and the thought of packing it up to go sit inside seemed like such a waste of good weather, we decided to dine alfresco.  My husband turned on the pool light and the spillways. I set the table, complete with cloth napkins and mason jar candles tied with raffia.  He grilled up a couple of  seasoned steaks, I sliced up a small loaf of Italian bread and made a spinach salad topped with strawberries and feta cheese. By this time we were both drinking a grapefruit/tangerine margarita, and feeling like we were on vacation.  I have never had an in-ground pool of my very own before and the two of us, I think, are still in awe of how nice the whole backyard turned out.

Best part….it’s all ours.  Worst part….we had to clean up after dinner. Oh well, can’t have it all.

6 thoughts on “Poolside

  1. How pretty!! So let me ask you, was that margarita compliments of the Tastefully Simple soiree?? It looked really delicious sitting on the table. Of course so did the steak, Ron. Love, Mom

    Like

    1. Actually, I bought the margarita mix after we attended a neighbor’s party, and that was one of the drinks offered to the guests. It is soooo good!

      Like

Leave a Reply

