Tips and Tricks

Eggsactly

For me, the month of October marks the beginning of the holiday season. Along with all the decor that begins to make it’s way into our homes, so begins the somewhat endless consumption of all the empty calories that make their way into our tummies. Holidays equal baked goods….period. What would the holidays be without the tradition of baking? This is the time of year when my, “no-junk-food-in-the-the-house” husband actually requests I make my families Polish butter cookies, Kolacki [Ko-Lach-Key]. It is safe to say that baking is not criticized in my house during the holidays, but is instead encouraged.

So what is my point, you ask, in saying all of this when there is a picture of an egg at the top of this post? As it turns out, I heard a very interesting tip today, while listening to the radio, about how to tell if those eggs in your fridge are still good. I have always had the belief that eggs just don’t go bad. When I was little, and living near my grandparents farm, we had fresh eggs pretty much daily. So sure, why would they go bad if there is no middle man involved? On the farm it’s just you, the chicken, and whether or not you’re willing to get your hand pecked when you reach under her to get said eggs. Turns out, I am wrong [Did you get that?], and eggs can go bad. Now, with all the baking in my near future, I thought it smart to make sure I am working with fresh eggs before I begin the task of putting myself, my husband, and our neighbors into a sugar coma.

 . . . . . . . . . . INSTRUCTIONS . . . . . . . . . .

Fill a bowl with about 4-inches of cold water and gently place an egg inside. If the egg sinks to the bottom, it’s good. If the egg sinks, but stands on its point, it’s good, BUT won’t be for much longer and should be used soon. If it floats however, toss it.
The science behind all this, is that egg shells are porous. Overtime the liquid in the egg evaporates through the porous shell, is then replaced by outside air, and becomes more buoyant. So, when this happens the egg will float instead of sinking.

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Food Storage 101 teaches us that air is the enemy and causes food to spoil faster. Hence the reason you burp your Tupperware.
So, next time you are getting ready to whip up a batch of yummy holiday cookies, or cakes, or brownies or whatever will make your butt appear bigger in the mirror, remember that there is a way to tell if those eggs are still safe to use. Now, you can hope that your freshly baked goodies aren’t going to require an extra trip to the gym, but remember that hope don’t float, and neither should your eggs. Happy Baking!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

